Industrial Carpenter logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

Industrial Carpenter Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 6 Content Areas

TL;DR
  • The NCCER Industrial Carpenter written assessment (AEN27ICARP05) has 100 items across six published content areas and a two-hour limit.
  • Carpentry Fundamentals carries the most items (25), but Concrete and Formwork together account for 40 of the 100.
  • The specification lists exact NCCER module IDs for every domain, so your study scope is fully defined.
  • A basic-function non-printing calculator is permitted; no notes, books or extra papers are allowed.

What the AEN27ICARP05 Written Assessment Actually Is

The Industrial Carpenter credential discussed on this page is the one issued through the National Center for Construction Education and Research (NCCER) under its National Craft Assessment and Certification Program. The exact written assessment is coded AEN27ICARP05, and its specification was last updated in November 2023. If you have seen other "Industrial Carpenter" content that talks about different testing vendors, fee schedules or domain breakdowns, set it aside. The only authoritative scope is the NCCER specification for this code.

The written component is a closed-book knowledge assessment of 100 items with a two-hour time limit. NCCER prints a minimum passing score of 75. The issuer does not publish how many of the 100 items are scored versus unscored, and the specification does not establish a multiple-choice format, so you should not assume one when you plan how you practice. What the specification does give us is a clear six-heading table of content areas, each mapped to specific NCCER module IDs. That table is the backbone of this guide.

The occupational focus described in the specification is distinctly industrial: erecting concrete forms, establishing plumb, level and grade, placing embeds, rigging large formwork, working knowledge of earthworks and reinforcement, possible equipment operation for concrete placement, interpreting construction drawings and using measuring instruments. That is a long way from finish carpentry, trim or cabinetry, and your preparation should reflect it. For a broader orientation to the credential, see What Is Industrial Carpenter Certification?

The Six Content Areas at a Glance

The table below reproduces the published mapping of domains, NCCER module IDs and item counts. These are item counts out of 100, not official percentage weights, and this guide does not convert them into percentages.

DomainNCCER ModulesItems
1. Carpentry Fundamentals00101, 27102, 27103, 2711025
2. Construction Drawings and Layout27104, 2740110
3. Rigging38101, 3810210
4. Concrete27303, 27304, 2730520
5. Trenching and Foundations27306, 2730715
6. Formwork27308, 2730920

Two things stand out. First, the table sums to exactly 100 items, so every question on the written test belongs to one of these six headings. Second, the distribution is not what a generic "carpentry test" would produce. Concrete, Trenching and Foundations, and Formwork together account for 55 of the 100 items, which tells you the assessment leans hard toward the concrete-forming side of the trade. Keep this in mind as we walk through each area, and pair this guide with our Industrial Carpenter Study Guide when you build your plan.

Domain 1: Carpentry Fundamentals

Carpentry Fundamentals (25 items; modules 00101, 27102, 27103, 27110)

This is the largest single allocation on the written assessment, and it draws from four separate NCCER modules. It is the foundation the other five areas sit on.

  • Four modules means four distinct bodies of material; do not assume this domain is one tidy chapter.
  • Expect the content to underpin everything else: tools, materials and the baseline practices of the trade as presented in the referenced NCCER Carpentry curriculum.
  • Because the assessment references fifth-edition Carpentry, use fifth-edition material where you can.

Candidates often underestimate this area because it feels like "stuff I already know." A journey-level worker may be fluent in the practice but still lose items on terminology, specified methods or safety conventions as the NCCER modules phrase them. Treat the module IDs as your checklist: pull each one up and confirm you can explain its content in your own words without looking at it.

One caution on scope: the public specification gives module IDs and item counts, not subtopic lists. Do not rely on any resource that claims to list "the exact topics" inside each module unless it is tied to the actual NCCER curriculum text. If you want a quick review sheet once you have studied the material, our Industrial Carpenter Cheat Sheet is a good place to consolidate it.

Domain 2: Construction Drawings and Layout

Construction Drawings and Layout (10 items; modules 27104, 27401)

Ten items cover reading drawings and establishing layout. The specification's occupational focus explicitly includes interpreting construction drawings and using measuring instruments, and it calls out establishing plumb, level and grade.

  • Interpreting construction drawings is a stated part of the role, so drawing-reading fluency matters well beyond these ten items.
  • Measuring instruments and the ability to establish plumb, level and grade connect directly to layout work.
  • Calculator use is permitted, so be comfortable doing dimension and elevation arithmetic with a basic non-printing calculator.

Although this is one of the smaller allocations, it is also one of the most "transferable" skills: the same drawing-reading and layout logic shows up when you think about forms, foundations and embeds. Practicing layout problems pays off in other domains even if the exam item count here is modest.

Domain 3: Rigging

Rigging (10 items; modules 38101, 38102)

Rigging is a smaller domain on the test, but it is central to the industrial role, which includes rigging large formwork.

  • Two NCCER modules, 38101 and 38102, define the written scope.
  • The occupational focus ties rigging to moving and handling large formwork, so study it in that context rather than as an abstract topic.
  • Ten items means each question is worth proportionally more than in the larger domains, so skipping this area entirely is a poor trade.

Candidates coming from residential or light commercial backgrounds are the most likely to have thin rigging experience. If that is you, schedule rigging deliberately rather than hoping it gets absorbed. These are modules numbered differently from the carpentry-series 27xxx modules, which is itself a hint that the material comes from a distinct part of the NCCER curriculum and deserves its own study block.

Domain 4: Concrete

Concrete (20 items; modules 27303, 27304, 27305)

Twenty items across three modules makes Concrete tied for the second-largest allocation. The specification's focus statement mentions placing embeds, working knowledge of reinforcement and possible equipment operation for concrete placement.

  • Three modules means broad coverage; plan to touch each module ID rather than sampling one.
  • Reinforcement and embeds are named in the occupational focus, so expect them to matter in how you think about this material.
  • Equipment operation for concrete placement is described as a possibility, not a certainty; study it as part of understanding the work, not as a hands-on skill test on the written exam.

Because Concrete and Formwork are both 20-item domains and the work is physically interdependent, studying them in adjacent blocks helps. You will naturally connect what the concrete needs from the form with how the form is built and braced. For questions about how demanding this combined load is, see How Hard Is the Industrial Carpenter Exam?

Domain 5: Trenching and Foundations

Trenching and Foundations (15 items; modules 27306, 27307)

Fifteen items across two modules cover the earthwork-and-foundation side of the job. The occupational focus states a working knowledge of earthworks.

  • Earthworks knowledge is explicitly part of the described role, even though the work is carpentry-titled.
  • Modules 27306 and 27307 are the only two defining this area; anchor your study to them.
  • Foundations sit between excavation and formwork in the real sequence of work, so understanding this domain makes the Formwork domain easier.

This domain surprises many candidates who equate "carpenter" with "lumber." Trenching and foundation content is closer to site and civil work, and the 15-item allocation is large enough that ignoring it could cost you the margin you need against a minimum passing score of 75.

Domain 6: Formwork

Formwork (20 items; modules 27308, 27309)

Formwork is the signature skill of the industrial carpenter and shares the 20-item allocation with Concrete. The specification's focus statement leads with erecting concrete forms.

  • Two modules, 27308 and 27309, define the written scope.
  • Erecting concrete forms, establishing plumb, level and grade, and rigging large formwork all converge here.
  • This is also the area where the written assessment and the hands-on Performance Verification overlap most in spirit; knowing the theory makes the practical tasks more predictable.

If you only have time to be excellent in two domains, Formwork and Concrete are the pair that move the most items (40 combined), and they reinforce each other. That said, a pass requires breadth, so treat them as priorities, not exclusive focuses.

Reading the Item Counts Without Inventing Weights

The specification publishes item counts, and because the total is 100, it is tempting to read them as percentages. Be careful. NCCER has not published official percentage weights for this assessment, and the scored-versus-unscored split is not disclosed. The honest takeaway is simply that the table allocates 25, 10, 10, 20, 15 and 20 items to the six headings, in that order.

Why this matters for your plan: The largest stated allocation is Carpentry Fundamentals at 25 items, but that is one heading drawing on four modules. On a per-module basis, Concrete (three modules, 20 items) and Formwork (two modules, 20 items) concentrate a lot of points into a small amount of curriculum. Use the table to decide where depth pays off most, not to calculate a precise score target.

Also remember the passing score is printed as 75 with no additional scaled-score interpretation from the issuer. We do not speculate on what that means item-by-item; our Industrial Carpenter Passing Score article covers the confirmed details, and there is no reliable assessment-specific pass-rate data to cite, which our pass rate article addresses honestly.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Domains

Rather than a generic schedule, here is a domain-driven sequence that follows the way the work actually flows on a site: fundamentals first, then drawings and layout, then the sitework and concrete chain, with rigging threaded in where it supports formwork. Adjust the pacing to your own experience; the order is the point.

Week 1

Carpentry Fundamentals

  • Work through modules 00101, 27102, 27103 and 27110 one at a time.
  • Do this first because it is the largest allocation and underpins the rest.
Week 2

Drawings, Layout and Rigging

  • Cover modules 27104 and 27401, practicing plumb, level and grade problems with a basic calculator.
  • Add rigging modules 38101 and 38102, especially if rigging is outside your daily work.
Week 3

Trenching, Foundations and Concrete

  • Study 27306 and 27307, then 27303, 27304 and 27305.
  • Keep sequence in mind: ground preparation leads into placement.
Week 4

Formwork and Integration

  • Finish with 27308 and 27309, tying forms back to concrete, embeds and rigging.
  • Run a timed two-hour session of 100 independently written practice items.

Leave Formwork for last on purpose: it draws on concrete, foundations, layout and rigging at once, so it is the natural capstone. A single timed run against the two-hour limit near the end tells you more about readiness than another reading pass. For help judging how long you need overall, see our domains overview and the practice test site.

Written Assessment vs. Performance Verification

This is the most important distinction in the whole credential, and it is easy to miss. The written assessment tests knowledge. NCCER also offers a separate hands-on Performance Verification, and its general credential documentation distinguishes a knowledge credential from a craft certification earned by passing both the written assessment and the performance verification.

ComponentWhat It MeasuresWhat Is Confirmed
Written assessment (AEN27ICARP05)Knowledge across six content areas100 items, two hours, closed book, minimum passing score 75
Performance VerificationHands-on craft tasks, supervisedAvailable separately; tasks, timing and scoring were not retrieved
Don't confuse the two clocks: The two-hour limit applies only to the written knowledge assessment. We have not verified timing, task lists or scoring for the performance component, so check with your NCCER assessment center rather than assuming anything. Written preparation alone cannot satisfy the hands-on requirement, and no practice question bank can award it.

Practically, this means your study plan has two tracks: knowledge for the written test and real shop or field practice for the verification. If you are weighing whether the full path is worth the effort, our ROI analysis walks through the considerations without promising a specific wage effect, and our salary guide keeps occupational pay separate from any claimed credential premium.

Logistics, Fees and the Fifth-Edition Reference

Where and how you test

The assessment is administered through NCCER assessment programs and centers, which you locate via NCCER's Find a Center tool. No Pearson VUE, PSI or Prometric route has been established for this assessment. Remote proctoring, adaptive delivery and assessment-specific retake rules have not been verified, so confirm them with your center. Results, a recommended training prescription and credentials are accessed through an NCCER account, and that prescription is a useful guide for targeted remediation if you do not pass on the first try.

Fees: local examples only

There is no single nationwide candidate fee verified from NCCER. Local providers publish their own prices. As examples, AGC New Mexico lists $140 for members and veterans and $240 for nonmembers, while ABC Western Pennsylvania lists $150 for members and veterans and $250 for nonmembers. These are local examples, not a national tariff, and they are not confirmed performance-verification charges. Always confirm that your booked center offers AEN27ICARP05, what it currently charges, and whether a separate performance fee applies. Course and textbook prices are not exam fees. Our certification cost breakdown goes deeper.

What you can bring

A basic-function, non-printing calculator is permitted. Extra papers, books, notes and study materials are not. Prerequisites are not published as a mandatory education or hour threshold for this assessment, though centers may have their own admission requirements; see Industrial Carpenter Requirements and our exam dates page for scheduling context.

The fifth-edition versus sixth-edition conflict

The assessment specification references fifth-edition NCCER Carpentry. NCCER's current Carpentry craft catalog now presents a sixth edition. A newer catalog does not supersede the published AEN27ICARP05 specification, so keep the fifth-edition reference and the exact module IDs above as your anchor until NCCER issues a replacement for this specific assessment. Do not assume a sixth-edition outline maps one-to-one onto the exam, and do not convert course hours into exam time.

Key Takeaway

Treat the six domain headings and their module IDs as your complete written-test scope. Spend your deepest effort on Concrete and Formwork, don't neglect Rigging or Trenching and Foundations, and plan separate hands-on preparation for Performance Verification.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many content areas does the Industrial Carpenter written assessment cover?

Six: Carpentry Fundamentals, Construction Drawings and Layout, Rigging, Concrete, Trenching and Foundations, and Formwork. Together they account for all 100 items on AEN27ICARP05.

Are the item counts the same as official percentage weights?

No. NCCER publishes item counts (25, 10, 10, 20, 15 and 20), not percentage weights, and it does not disclose the scored-versus-unscored split. Use the counts for prioritization only.

Can I use a calculator on the written assessment?

Yes, a basic-function non-printing calculator is permitted. The assessment is closed book, so no notes, books, extra papers or other study materials are allowed.

Does passing the written test make me a certified Industrial Carpenter?

Not by itself. NCCER distinguishes a knowledge credential from craft certification, which is earned by passing both the written assessment and the separate hands-on Performance Verification.

Which edition of the curriculum should I study from?

The specification references fifth-edition NCCER Carpentry, even though NCCER's catalog now shows a sixth edition. Anchor your study to the exact module IDs listed for each domain and confirm details with your assessment center.

Ready to pass your Industrial Carpenter exam?

Put this into practice with free Industrial Carpenter questions across every exam domain.